Municipal Court & Violations Bureau

The Joint Municipal Court is a legislatively empowered court of limited jurisdiction deriving its judicial powers from the state constitution and administered under the authority of the New Jersey State Supreme Court.

The Joint Municipal Court serves five(5) towns: Borough of Madison, Borough of Chatham, Township of Chatham, and the Township of Morris.


  • Disorderly Persons / Petty Disorderly Persons Offense (DP/DPD Offenses)
  • Division of Fish and Wildlife Violations
  • Forest and Park Violations
  • Motor Vehicle / Traffic and Parking Violations
  • Violations of Municipal Ordinances
  • Violations of Penalty Enforcement Act
  • Weights and Measures Violations
  • Any other proceedings where jurisdictions is granted by statute

Payment for violations can be made by check, cash, credit card, or money order. Some violations can be paid with a credit card online,


The mission of the Joint Municipal Court is to provide for independent, fair, and impartial administration of justice in a timely and efficient manner.